Vivint Smart Home Review: Securing Your Smart Home Has Never Been Easier

Vivint has come a long way since it introduced its doorbell camera in 2015. Like its competition – which includes the likes of Comcast Xfinity, ADT, and even DIY solutions like Simplisafe — Vivint offers a full suite of connected smart home security devices that work together to protect homes against everything from burglary, to fires, and floods. The difference, as I’ve experienced first-hand, comes down to the service experience.

Bitten by the smart home security bug, I wanted more. I wanted smart locks, voice control, door sensors, window sensors, and cameras … with night vision. Then Vivint came along and offered to install a comprehensive smart home security system for review with the option to either remove the system afterward or leave it in place for follow-up reviews as new features and hardware were added down the line.

I’m opting for the latter. Vivint isn’t the most affordable smart home security option, but their service and app experience are outstanding, and through my experience with their system, I’ve learned both of those factors are absolutely key.

Vivint outfitted my home with its doorbell camera, one indoor camera, three outdoor cameras (all with night vision), two Kwikset SmartCode deadbolt locks, three door sensors, 10 window sensors, one interior motion sensor, two glass-break sensors, two smoke detectors, and a flood/heat/cold sensor, and a touchscreen control panel.
If that sounds like a lot, I passed on four window sensors for the second floor, a smart thermostat (Vivint makes its own, and Nest is an option), a smart garage door opener module, and any of Vivint’s smart lighting solutions, which include lamp modules and compatibility with Philips Hue smart bulbs. The point here is that Vivint systems are designed to provide smart home convenience as well as security, and systems can be scaled from modest to almost obscenely elaborate.

SUBSCRIBE FOR THE LATEST VIDEOS
http://bit.ly/DTYouTubeSub

VISIT DIGITAL TRENDS
https://www.digitaltrends.com/

DT Series—
Behind the Wheel:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5XpfdRhHgyU&list=PLZEIwIHCxaFXVeqr527QvNAGf-hhUohdM

Awesome Tech you can’t buy Yet:

Innovators:

Connect my Crib:

FOLLOW US!
https://www.facebook.com/digitaltrends

https://www.instagram.com/digitaltrends
https://plus.google.com/+digitaltrends/posts

50 Comments

  1. Thomas N on October 11, 2020 at 4:51 pm

    I suggest going with another company. I spent $1800 on a system with two cameras. The cameras are not reliable at all. I must reboot my panel multiple times a day. Vivint is absolutely junk !!!!!!

  2. flitedeck on October 11, 2020 at 4:51 pm

    I love my Vivint system…After bugs were worked out in the first 3 months, I ve had no major issues..I recommend Vivint. I also recommend a "mesh" whole house WiFi system too.

  3. geosanchez96 on October 11, 2020 at 4:55 pm

    Hey guys! 🤗 VIVINT SMART HOME SECURITY is providing free instillation!! No activation fee!! AND 150$ OFF OF EQUIPMENT!! 🏡🤩 limited time offer only! message me for details and I can get you to the right specialist for your needs!!

  4. Mike Steele on October 11, 2020 at 4:56 pm

    Its 2020 ,and I had my system for three years now. I would not go with this system it’s old and outdated. Not sure why they are still selling this old unit. Please look at other options

  5. Samuel Davis on October 11, 2020 at 4:56 pm

    I love vivint

  6. Xtrava on October 11, 2020 at 4:57 pm

    Vivint is crap compared to Verisure

  7. Советский Союз on October 11, 2020 at 4:57 pm

    My screen froze

  8. Helping Minimalist Review on October 11, 2020 at 4:58 pm

    Okay, guys what he means is if somebody comes in your home and puts a gun to your head and says turn off the alarm You would actually punch in the duress code instead. The Intruder does not know if you’re putting in the turn the alarm off code or stress code. It could save your life. I get it👍🍽🎯

  9. Matt Taylor on October 11, 2020 at 5:00 pm

    Don’t get Vivint. They’re a terrible company. They average a D- on the BBB and they’ve had to settle millions of dollars in lawsuits resulting from unscrupulous business practices. Buy a system from any other company!

  10. Felishia Kilian on October 11, 2020 at 5:02 pm

    I stopped the video just to see if anyone noticed the “if I’m at gunpoint all I have to do is punch in my code comment..” THAT WAS JUST SOO IGNORANT TO SAY. Dealing with a real genius here….👏🏿

  11. Mojo Tech on October 11, 2020 at 5:05 pm

    Don’t know if a bad guy would allow you to enter your code at gunpoint

  12. julius jones on October 11, 2020 at 5:07 pm

    you punch in a code

  13. Xi Jinping on October 11, 2020 at 5:08 pm

    After 5 yrs with Vivint I decided not to renew contract,they kick me off the app and I no longer have access to the system even tho I now own the useless equipment

  14. GetoverYourself on October 11, 2020 at 5:09 pm

    The screen/ GUI is very boring.

  15. Jonny Flash on October 11, 2020 at 5:10 pm

    The key to the game is illusion. Make it look great, make it sound great, then make them pay greater. It all eventually equates.

  16. lawrence johnson on October 11, 2020 at 5:11 pm

    Seems like a commercial, not a review.

  17. Gregory Wright on October 11, 2020 at 5:12 pm

    What if the Black thug with sagging pants has a mask on. Does vivint identify the illiterate, sagging pants thug.

  18. J. Chris Lowe on October 11, 2020 at 5:13 pm

    I think ADP does payroll and ADT does security BAHAHAAHHA

  19. By_Rant Or_Ruin on October 11, 2020 at 5:13 pm

    So who stole your junk off of your porch?

  20. David Beiler on October 11, 2020 at 5:14 pm

    sure vivent is good if you dont like to tinker and want a subscription for life

  21. Caleb Albritton on October 11, 2020 at 5:15 pm

    I am Caleb there is 3 Caleb’s

  22. travis sutton on October 11, 2020 at 5:15 pm

    Vivint is great. Changed my life. Best system . Adt was the worst company ive ever had to deal with

  23. Rolando Ramos on October 11, 2020 at 5:16 pm

    Im a new customer at first day I got charged $55 equipment and my first month 105 dollar .And they told us it was o down . they have bad customer service ..

  24. Bruno Andrade on October 11, 2020 at 5:17 pm

    yesterday me and my bro was home alone lol my dad put the alarm then i thouth my mom was home and the alarm was so loud put i was shaking like crazyyyyy the cops almost come but thanks vivnt for you sucrity on my home

  25. Patty Mac12 on October 11, 2020 at 5:19 pm

    “Omg I hate them they suck they charge me for the equipment” well duh….

  26. Sean Smith on October 11, 2020 at 5:19 pm

    Vivant is pure trash like seriously only thing good is the ring nest and Alexa

  27. jj basilis on October 11, 2020 at 5:20 pm

    i am one of those, who ignored the bad reviews of vivint, thinking those folks just had a misunderstanding, so we tried vivint. equipment workef. we hesitated , bec we have a pre existing one already. but we got lured by " no risk 2 months trial period". but guess what, after 30 days.we discovered " there was no documentation" and they couldnt find the sales person who made the promise.. in short, we were given the ran around, being pased friom 1dept to another. to get rid of vivint, we called for termination of their service. it took 3 weeks to make it finally happen. then we discivered we were sctually locked in a 5 year contrac without us knowing aboit it. no explanation whatsoever,we ended up paying almost $2000.00 to buy ourselves out from a contract that we never agreed. the experience was horrible. this company is a scam. unless you have plenty of funds to waste, dont ever let this company, do a ",risk-free trial installation in your home".they’ re pretty aggressive in convincing you for a trial but once you let the installer in, youre doomed.i will never recommend vivint.

  28. NP M on October 11, 2020 at 5:20 pm

    I didn’t even have that much they charge me 4k it not seem right I will call tomorrow

  29. Maximiliano Garcia on October 11, 2020 at 5:20 pm

    So if I want the system but not the cops coming can I still
    Buy this without the monthly payment just to have everything bundled

  30. Michael Benninger on October 11, 2020 at 5:21 pm

    Vivant is the worst customer service ever the only thing they care about is the check. Service if it comes to them failing you are still on contract.

  31. Marsha Lee on October 11, 2020 at 5:21 pm

    The clips are automatically deleted after 14 days!

  32. WHITEBOY 39TH on October 11, 2020 at 5:24 pm

    I stopped watching hen he said 2grand wtf

  33. Emmy Engy on October 11, 2020 at 5:24 pm

    I also use a home security system, but only from Kangaroo. The smart home system is very effective in the modern world. Sensors are very easy to install, and all over the phone using the application. The main thing is to install the sensor at the entrance door and windows.

  34. Irina Varosyan on October 11, 2020 at 5:25 pm

    Great Review! If you want to get a free installation and save on your monthly payments use my solution number 36KTL and my name Irina Varosyan. Try it today and see how much you can save !

  35. G.O.A.T MEDIA on October 11, 2020 at 5:26 pm

    Got straight lied to by Cody McClain Edmonton area salesman about being able to cancel prior to 1 year now vivint is playing dumb and wants over 4k to escape security plan we had for couple months loaded with equipment that works 50% of the time and needs batteries every 2 weeks …DO NOT USE VIVINT!!!!

  36. MrCwhitt75 on October 11, 2020 at 5:30 pm

    So..2 grand for the equipment. How much monthly is this guy paying?

  37. Cat x on October 11, 2020 at 5:33 pm

    You got ripped off!!

  38. FLEXXX on October 11, 2020 at 5:35 pm

    This guys a snitch….. sending video to the police…… bwahahaha…. j/k……

  39. Donny Ingraham on October 11, 2020 at 5:35 pm

    The sensors on my systems didn’t communicate with the system when door was opened by intruders. If vivint is so great, why did it happen and why won’t the company admit to the problem when they replaced nonworking sensors

  40. J.D. Chapman on October 11, 2020 at 5:37 pm

    I don’t know if it’s the system, equipment, or what, but this company SUCKS! Not only is the monitoring fee expensive, the service is unreliable, equipment is glitchy, and they have a lot of sneaky legalese hidden in their contract and servicing paperwork.
    Additionally, they recently stopped using the Space Monkey for anything except camera files, which are always missing random hours, days, and sometimes an entire week of camera and other activity, yet they won’t reduce your monthly fee in correlation with their reduced service. The connection and/or equipment operates at such latency that by the time you know someone has rang your doorbell, or are stealing packages from your stoop, they are long gone. Customer service people are friendly, yet receiving actual service is slow, and they sometimes forget about you altogether.

    I will NOT be renewing my contract.

  41. Jerry Bailey on October 11, 2020 at 5:37 pm

    You lost me at $2000 😒

  42. jj basilis on October 11, 2020 at 5:38 pm

    vivint is a scam. dont ever let them give you a " risk-free trial installation". they re pretty aggressive in getting you in but a nightmare to get out & thousands of dollars to buy yourself out of a 5 year contract without you knowing about it. i will never recommend vivint.

  43. SuperPussyFinger on October 11, 2020 at 5:39 pm

    You can get all this and more from Ring for $10/mo, and that includes unlimited video cloud storage. I’m not sure what kind of white glove service you’re getting from Vivint, but you’re better off getting robbed.

  44. Dee Mabon on October 11, 2020 at 5:44 pm

    ADP… lol

  45. kevinranders on October 11, 2020 at 5:45 pm

    2k AND I have to install myself. No thanks

  46. Lee Green on October 11, 2020 at 5:45 pm

    Can two residents view the cameras through separate cell phones? What security features do they have to prevent unwanted persons from viewing those cameras? Especially the ones inside.

  47. Jack DaRapper on October 11, 2020 at 5:47 pm

    I just got this and love it.

  48. Losee Rich on October 11, 2020 at 5:48 pm

    I don’t pay for cloud storage with my Blink cameras.

  49. PINKSTONES6 on October 11, 2020 at 5:49 pm

    So disappointed with Vivent, the company that was amazing… three years ago… read on!
    First, I called Vivent and asked if I put the code in ‘wrong” two times or if I say the wrong code, can they send the police… they assured me they would I explained my situation, they seemed to be very understanding and on it. Ok will get back to that, What is more important for them to check than fire alarm? Home invasion, fire comes next, right? Wrong… my fire alarm has gone off three times in two months… once my son cooking, twice me…no one spoke to me through the box !?!? – no one from Vivent ever checked, not once!! And we had already called in about that…. We could have died like my sons’ best friend did in a house 🔥 fire. Since My husband had called Vivent to tell them about no one checking if we were ok- after fire alarm went off… we were all sure they would check to see if we were ok or l..if no answer, they would call fire dept…”? No-e, nothing happened, no Vivent check, no fire dept. You cannot shut off fire alarm… so it was blaring quite a while, I had to open all windows and doors to stop the fire alarm… eventually it stopped. Since my sons best friend died and almost my son as well… in his rented apartment fire. No one has really recovered since (Issy) passed. My son is still suffering survivors guilt. Why, or how can Vivent not check to see if everything is ok?? Why have fire alarm, if no one checks up on it? Its like we bought a pretend one. Then, The alarm went off I forgot I had a garage alarm…. vivent asked through the box- “are you ok’?? If I wasn’t, and soneone pushed their way in with me…. what would I have said— “no” in front of a guy with a gun on me”?? I called Vivent two times asking them to always ALWAYS ask me for my code if any alarm goes off. If I give the wrong code, someone is in the house… call police… did they make sure they did it ? NO they did not. They asked for my name and was I ok….. If someone was here- I couldn’t say “no” again, so I called Vivent, set up with Vivent saying if I put in passcode wrong – or wrong name, and or if they were to pls ask me a code through the box, send police immediately. They said “are you ok” I said yes, I think they said, “so you are ok, (again) I said “yes, having a bad day” they said ‘ok have a good day” that was it. Then one day, two guys were holding a vivent sign, the one from the grass of someones elses home… asking to come in and check things, I said, “no’! One guy was on front step right near my door the other guy stayed a bit further away. I asked for ID they showed me the sign from the grass… as I said I called vivent immediately and they put me “on hold” over 90 seconds, literally really scary to hold 90 seconds… and – the woman “extremely apathetic”, came back on the phone saying “no, no one is “canvassing” in your area, ok?” I said, “no, not ok what should I do”? I asked the woman if my code issue, (wrong -passcode meant send cops was registered on my file, that if I gave a wrong code, (if someone forces their way in or someone is in my home) … she said, “ no, it is not on the file, then she said, she did not have my name on file either, at all??? Was there anything else I wanted help with, agast… I said “no”? “I made sure two times that it would be on the file” she simply said, “its not, your name is not on file either… can I help you with anything else” ? I was so upset, shocked, appalled… Shocking for me and so so disappointed with Vivent, supposed to have this as priority as I had explained to someone at Vivent, Im in the media, on tv five days a week, I needed them to understand and work with me on this, they said, no problem! I called the police, they took the report and the clip of the guy at the front door.. but there is no sound recorded when you play a clip…. or send a clip, as the police asked where is the sound. I said, I do not know why there is no sound…. vivent used to be so on top of everything the first year in 2017 when we got the system and I had them install a lot, “over” $3,000.00 Again, the sales person said they would fix up the wall, when installer came… as when I bought this home previous owners had a previous alarm (panel) it looked horrible. When they came to install, they said they can’t really remove other alarm system, so they added theirs on top of old one 4 inches above old one…. in my brand new home that I just bought… so SO ugly. I see it all the time so do all my guests, not impressive. Its the first thing you see when you come into the house. So two alarm boxes looks horrible … sales person had assured me, they would fix it as I said, installers said they cannot… never did and now I have two panels, rather have a hole in my wall that I can cover with something. Also, the first installer that came on the job, was a bit confused, I asked him to please hold…. I called immediately the sales person told him what was up… to come over if possible as he lives near me, I said to the installer “are you new”, he said “no, not really” I followed my intuition. My husband came home, spoke to the guy… he told me, “good call.” The sales person called got me someone new immediately… a woman installer who knew her stuff, really instilled confidence. However if it was my sister as an example she is so shy, she would never have asked for someone she felt comfortable with. We, the people on my street, all feel they have slacked a bit. A bit? No actually a lot, look at the few problems I have mentioned… so so disappointed in Vivent. There are a few people on my street not happy with the issues they are having with Vivent (no one came through the box and checked on fire issue either anyway this is way too long, I will stop here- but, not happy with Vivent anymore, too many issues. Sorry if not written well or repetitive, as my son is sick I had to keep going to his bedroom then come back finish writing.

  50. I like Mathematics on October 11, 2020 at 5:50 pm

    This business is going to go out of business 🖕

Leave a Comment